Getting crawled by ShopWiki
Written by Bill G on January 17th, 2007 in culture.
Seriously, WTF?
I check AWstats and find out that oddculture.com has 2097 hits from IP address 38.98.120.74.
IP Whois Results:
Connecting to whois.arin.net…
OrgName: Performance Systems International Inc.
OrgID: PSI
Address: 1015 31st St NW
City: Washington
StateProv: DC
PostalCode: 20007
Country: US
NetRange: 38.0.0.0 - 38.255.255.255
CIDR: 38.0.0.0/8
NetName: PSINETA
NetHandle: NET-38-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS.PSI.NET
NameServer: NS2.PSI.NET
Comment: Reassignment information for this block can be found at
Comment: rwhois.cogentco.com 4321
RegDate: 1991-04-16
Updated: 2005-10-05
Oh, great. Performance Systems International from Washington DC.
Setting my browser to URL 38.98.120.74 directly takes me to shopwiki.com.
And now the fun begins:
for $150, you can buy the month of January, 2006
internetz is for sale at $81 - CHEAP !!
Big dumb bots. Great.


February 19th, 2007 at 2:40 am
They have been hitting my site since Feb 11th. I found you in google link, and it looks like this is not an isolated occurance. what did you do to stop them. I have emailed my blog host, typepad, but have not heard back from them yet.
February 19th, 2007 at 1:07 pm
Isabella:
I went into my site’s CPanel interface and set the IP deny setting for 38.98.120.74.
Alternatively, you could go into your website’s .htaccess file and enter the line “deny from 38.98.120.74″.
- Bill